30 Oct 2014

Prep | Community Round-up

0 Comment

School News


Best monitor house to date:

Ambrose          4

Jerome             2

Gregory           0

Current winner:           Jerome

Best monitor:              Mohamed Karim (Jerome)


Sports Results


25/10 Colts B 130 for 7 Ruzawi 45 all out SJP won by 85 runs
Colts C 78 for 8 Ruzawi 103 for 9 SJP lost by 29 runs
Colts D 153 for 6 Ruzawi 90 all out SJP lost by 63 runs
2nd Team 65 all out Ruzawi 131 for 4 SJP lost by 66 runs
3rd Team 91 all out Ruzawi 92 for 5 SJP lost by 5 wickets
4th Team 111 for 5 Ruzawi 93 all out SJP won by 18 runs


Ruzawi Quadrangular held 24 – 25 October

24/10 Colts A 50 for 1 Whitestone 122 for 6 Drew – match rained off
1st Team 140 for 7 Whitestone 18 for 4 Match rained off
25/10 Colts A 104 for 6 Ruzawi 139 for 3 SJP lost by 35 runs
Colts A 103 for 4 Springvale House 102 for 9 SJP won by 6 wickets
1st Team 150 for 3 Ruzawi 141 for 6 SJP won by 9 runs
1st Team 114 for 3 Springvale House 113 for 9 SJP won by 7 wickets



Flippers Gala held on Tuesday 14 October at St John’s Prep

6th        Lilfordia          40

5th        St John’s B      43

4th        Hartmann House 62

3rd        Chisipite          69

2nd        Hellenic           70

1st        St John’s A     94

Pisces Gala held on Wednesday 22 October 2014 at Dominican Convent

Although St John’s and Chisipite have won this trophy every year since 1996, the competition from Hartmann House and Convent has become increasingly tougher – resulting in a truly exciting, but uncomfortably close gala this year.

6th        DominicanConvent/Hartmann House “B”     44

5th        Bishopslea/Ruzawi “B”                                  47

4th        Bishopslea/Ruzawi “A”                                  71

3rd        St John’s Prep/ Chisipite “B”                          76

2nd        DominicanConvent/Hartmann House “A”     99

1st        St John’s Prep/ Chisipite “A”                         10

Christian Cullen participated in the Mutare Sprint Gala over the Half term weekend and won the following medals:

Silver medal – Boys 12 and under 50m Butterfly

Bronze medal – Boys 12 and under 50m Backstroke



1st Team Tennis captains:     Captain – Daniel Van Rooyen

Vice-Captain – Conor Higgins

6 October: 1st team beat Hartmann House 11 sets to 1

27 October: 1st team beat Lilfordia boys 12 sets to 0

2nd Team played Bishopslea and drew 6 all.

Rukudzo Hamadziripi played in a tennis competition at Harare Sports Club last weekend and came second. Well done to him.



Daniel Johnson was awarded a Gold medal for 1st place in the 4th and 5th legs of the Zimbabwe BMX Interprovincial series.

He also picked up a 1st place trophy for overall winner in the 11 year old group.

Jarod Ellse attended the South African National Championship this past weekend. He won all his races and was crowned SA champion for the 13 year old age group, receiving his SA1 Number plate and SA Gold medal.

On Sunday 26 October, he raced in the African Continental Championships. He won all his races again and won the African Continental Gold medal and champion race shirt.



Cameron Mellor was second in the junior boys section of the Inter-schools’ duathlon held on Friday 24 October.



St John’s Prep school hosted a very successful interschool’s tournament with 9 teams taking part. Not only did the morning run extremely smoothly, but the eats were fantastic and the event ended in record time. Many thanks to Miss Hacker and everyone who organised. Individual results for St John’s Prep boys were as follows:


St John’s A                            Score               Rank

Daniel Jackson                        285/300           1

Ndangariro Vudzijena            251/300           9

Keegan Bowl                          240/300           13

Seth Lambourne                      221/300           23

Rishi Patel                               216/300           24

Murray Dorward                     203/300           27

Total                                        997


St John’s B

Graham do Plooy                    253/300           8

Kian Patel                               230/300           18

Huntley Masterson                  216/300           24

Innocent Tahwa                      200/300           28

Hassan Ezzedine                     186/300           29

Arian Tarr                                183/300           30

Total                                        899



Shaan Patel                             166/300           32

The B team were awarded certificates for being the B team winners with their 899 points.

Daniel Jackson was the overall best archer with 285 out of 300 – a record highest NASP score in Zimbabwe in all age groups. Well done Daniel.