10 Sep 2015

College | Smashing Cricket

0 Comment

South African Schools Dominate Smashing Cricket 2015

St Johns College (SA) won the CABS T20 Smashing Cricket Tournament today (6 September 2015) in an all South African final, after registering a six wicket win over defending champions and rivals St Andrews College.

St Andrews, who beat St Johns College (Zim) in last year’s 2014 final of the same tournament, posted a competitive score of 134 for nine in their allotted 20 overs, with Antony Dakin top scoring with 38 runs.  St John’s (SA) comfortably chased down their winning total with Keegan Lumley (32) and Farhaan Sayanvana (46) leading the run chase.

The Falcon College Titans, clad in pink as a solidarity measure for Breast Cancer Awareness, were the best of the Zimbabwean teams.  The Titans were the Plate Victors after a five wicket win over a rejuvenated Churchill side in the Plate Final. The Bulldogs, as Churchill are affectionately known, have produced many of the current Zimbabwe national team players.

Churchill reached 103 for seven in their allotted 20 overs led by an unbeaten 48 by Jameson Chikovero. The boys from Esigodini however easily chased down the target with national Under-19 team Adam Keefe leading the run chase with an unbeaten 46.  Matthew Connolly chipped in with 25 runs.

Eight Zimbabwe schools were joined by four SA schools teams namely St Andrews College, St Johns College, Cornwall Hill and Parktown Boys all from SA in the the three-day tournament hosted by St George’s College.

Courtesy of